Why I travel

Singalila Trek, Indian Himalayas
Singalila Trek, Indian Himalayas

I’ve never really felt settled in one place. I lived in London for more than 20 years, but rarely stayed in the same job for more than a couple of years. And I always took off for long breaks between contracts. From my first 5 week trip to Central America to my 7 month round-the-world jaunt, I’ve often heard other travellers refer to the travel bug. Like something you catch and never get rid of completely. Recently there’s even been talk of a wanderlust gene which may or may not pre-determine some people to be restless. Now if people jokingly accuse me of being work-shy and irresponsible, I can simply say it’s genetic. I have no choice in the matter. Every now and again I need to pack my rucksack and hit the road. Whatever the reasons, travel is addictive and I have been addicted for the last 25 years.

Trekking in Tana Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonesia
Trekking in Tana Toraja, Sulawesi, Indonesia

I have visited 62 countries across all continents and enjoy every aspect of travel, from trekking to snorkelling, from exploring cities to relaxing in a jungle hammock, from trying new cuisine to meeting new people.  I love the fact that every day is different when you travel. Some people are horrified at the idea of not knowing where they’ll be sleeping from one day to the next, but for me this is all part of the adventure.

Nightmarket in Kota Kinabalu, Borneo
Nightmarket in Kota Kinabalu, Borneo

Sometimes things go wrong, you have a bad day or you just don’t like a place. But that’s okay. It’s all part of the experience.  It’s easy to get depressed by current world events, but travelling helps put things into perspective. It helps you to see that the natural world is an astonishing place, and that mankind has also made some thrilling contributions: from ancient temples to rice terraces.

During my travels I came to Brazil frequently and have spent most of the past 5 years in São Paulo. However, living and working in a country is very different from travelling in it. I’ll be using this blog to report on trips in Brazil as well as comment on daily life here and even pass on a few tips. I love photography and so I’ll also post some reports and photos of past adventures.

At the top of the Pico do Papagaio, Minas Gerais, Brazil
At the top of the Pico do Papagaio, Minas Gerais, Brazil

Published by

ianworldtraveller

I'm British, lived in London most of my life, but am currently travelling the world.

Leave a comment